If women only knew what they were up against

When loving someone more than themselves goes wrong

Shannon Vaughn
2 min readMar 19, 2024
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I used to think the good guy was devoid of traumas. How else could he be good? Over time, conversations with different men would prove me wrong. And what I learned, is each one had that incident(s) that would change the trajectory of their life, and/or mental and emotional state.

A co worker of mine expressed their discouragement with dating after ending a nine year long relationship. Apparently, the two women in rotation jumped ship. And now he was at back to zero.

“Yeah, I had one cooking for me, the other doing this and that,” he recalled.

It’s funny how it never occurred to me, he could be a user of women until more conversations would reveal his true character.

As told by him, he’d ended his one year long marriage for reasons unclear. All I heard was when he discovered it wasn’t going to work, he filed. That he’d dated older women prior to his most recent relationship to an older woman, for financial help. He’d also recount times he left women and intentionally dated women on public assistance or with “daddy issues”, because they were “easy, with no standards”.

His poor dating life would spill over to his work life. Fits of anger, stubbornness, and…

--

--